How to Chase a Dream

Standard
How to Chase a Dream

TGI…Saturday! I don’t know about you, but for me, it’s been another long week of balancing “have to do” lists, “need to do” lists, and “want to do” lists. Some would say, “That’s life.” But it seems to get even harder when you’re trying to chase a dream.

Finding time to write is difficult when it feels like something else has to be put on hold just so you can make even the slightest dent in your word count goal. Personally, I have a constant inner dialogue going on that sounds something like…

-I want to write, but I should clean my house first. (Incidentally, the closer to a deadline I get, the cleaner my house is – gotta love procrastination)

-I’d love to finish writing another chapter, but I need to make my lesson plans for the week. (I feel like this one IS actually valid.)

-I WILL sit down and write for at least…SQUIRREL! (Ok, so that’s for all the other ADD writers out there, but seriously, I think we can all identify.) LOL

As much as distractions and “life” get in the way, I have to remember how badly I want this. Fortunately, I have people in my life who keep me focused on chasing my dream.

Not long ago, I received one of the most inspiring compliments from my best friend. She said that I was the kind of person who really goes after what she wants. She said that while other people are busy talking about doing something, I get busy actually doing it.

This struck me as such an amazing vote of confidence, albeit misplaced. So, naturally I did what most women do when we receive a compliment, I spent the next ten minutes trying to talk her out of what she had just said. Luckily, she wouldn’t hear a word of it, and I’m so thankful!

Over the next couple weeks, I started trying to see how I could have possibly earned her verbal accolade. I thought about how when most people are relaxing on Saturdays, I get up early to go to writing sessions/workshops with local writers. I started mentally keeping track of all the hours I spend researching writing (reading books on the craft, surfing for freelance jobs, and reading helpful blog posts). I even started laughing at myself for all the headaches I’ve suffered from drinking way-too-strong Starbucks drinks just so I can go there to write (FYI – I only recently discovered that I can get my peppermint mochas in decaf…don’t judge.)

I guess I had never really given myself credit for all the hard work that I have been putting in (all while working more than 40 hours a week at a “regular” job).

This business of chasing a dream is not easy. It’s getting up early on your days off. It’s counting pennies and dimes to go to a writing conference. And it’s letting that load of clothes sit in the dryer just a little longer while you hammer out a few more lines of dialogue.

So, here’s to us, the dream-chasers, the ones who refuse to give up just because it’s “too hard.” Keep writing, because you can’t chase a dream standing still!

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: How Losing a Writing Contest Changed My Life (in a good way) | Leah Rhea's Blog

Leave a comment